Grand Rapids DUI Defense Attorney
Don’t Plead Guilty: Call Our Experienced Attorneys Today
A drunk driving charge can have far-reaching effects beyond the charge itself. If you’ve been charged with drunk driving, consult with one of our experienced and knowledgeable OWI/DUI defense attorneys.
Drunk driving cases have serious consequences. At Scozzari Graham, PLLC, our Grand Rapid DUI defense attorney will thoroughly review your case and help you determine the best course of action. Depending on our review of the charge, and your goals, we may fight the charge to have it dismissed, take it to trial, or strategically negotiate a plea bargain to limit your sentence and save some of your driving privileges.
What are the Common Drunk Driving Charges in Michigan
- OWI – Operating While Impaired – 0.08% or Greater
- OWVI – Operating While Visibly Impaired
- Super-Drunk – 0.17% or Greater
- OWPD – Operating with the Presence of Drugs
- Zero Tolerance – Person under 21 years of Age; .02% but less than .08%
Other Possible Related Charges
- Refusal to Submit to a PBT
- Implied Consent Refusal
- MIP – Minor in Possession
- Open Intoxicants
- Possession or Use of Marijuana or Other Drugs
- Driving While License Suspended
- Driving While License Restricted
- Driving While License Expired
- Defective Equipment
- Expired Registration or Insurance
- Disorderly Conduct
- Probation Violations
Fees & Michigan DUI Penalties / Restriction for OWI & OWVI
In addition to a sentence imposed by a judge, the Michigan Secretary of State will automatically impose sanctions against a convicted drunk driver:
- For a first offense OWI, your Michigan driver’s license will be suspended 30 days and restricted another 150 days. For a second offense within 7 years, your license is revoked. There will also be Driver Responsibility Fees of $1,000.00 for two (2) consecutive years. This fee is in addition to the fines and costs assessed by the court.
- For a first offense OWVI, your license will be restricted for 90 days. There is no hard suspension; and the Driver Responsibility Fees are reduced to $500.00 for two (2) consecutive years.
If your attorney can argue and convince the prosecutor and police to a successful plea bargain, you may be permitted to keep your driving privileges and save $1,000 in fees, among other benefits.
DUI Firearm Possession Rights
Driving under the influence (DUI) could also impact an individual’s firearm possession rights. If a person has one prior DUI conviction, they must wait 3 years from the conviction date before applying for a CPL. If they have two prior DUI convictions, they may not apply until 8 years since they were convicted of their last DUI.
You Don’t Have to Do It Alone
Yes, retaining a Grand Rapid DUI defense attorney can be expensive. But not doing so can be even more expensive in the long run. Contact with the police and the court system can also be embarrassing and intimidating. Attorneys are not permitted to guarantee results, thy my only promise you their best efforts. Therefore, it matters which attorney you choose. Let our experienced and knowledgeable defense attorneys guide you through the process, negotiate with prosecutors, appear in court and argue on your behalf.